Cee Lo Green Not Returning to The Voice ‘At All’

(via: US Weekly)
(via: US Weekly)

Cee Lo Green is saying “forget you” to NBC’s hit show The Voice. After spending four seasons of mentoring aspiring singers, the 39-year-old announced on the Ellen show Wednesday (Feb. 18th) that he will not be returning to the reality show.

“I’m not coming back at all,” he told DeGeneres. “I don’t want to wear out my welcome there. You know what I’m saying. I have so many other things that I want to do. I haven’t released an album in four years. I’m almost done with my album.”

So what is the reasoning behind Cee Lo leaving the infamous red spinning chair?

“There are numerous reasons that led to this decision, which has been amicably reached with NBC, but I’m excited to be developing several other ideas with the network and my association with NBC remains strong, ” he stated. “The Voice has been an immensely enjoyable experience for me and I can only hope I have enriched the lives of our viewers, the contestants, and the many friends I made there. I will always be there in spirit. Meanwhile, NBC and I plan to continue our relationship with several new co-ventures including a new music show, while we also explore our ideas for me to create and host a new show of my own. I will not go quietly into the night… expect more great music and entertainment done in my own unique unmistakable and undeniable way. The Voice has given me all the altitude and incentive to do just that. Thanks for the memories and make way for many more!”

The Grammy winner was among one of the original four judges on The Voice, where he sat along side Adam Levine, Blake Shelton, and Christina Aguilera. While he and Aguilera took time off from the show to pursue other things during season four, Usher and Shakira took over their chairs to mentor the contestants. But the original twosome joined Levine and Shelton for season five.

For now, Cee Lo is set to go on tour with Lionel Richie.

-Celeste Piraino

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Cee Lo Green Not Returning to The Voice ‘At All’”

Leave a Reply

